AndreaPlanet.com - My door always open to you * Login  * FAQ    * Search
It is currently Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:07 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 11:47 pm 
I am trying to create a 12 by 22 tile mosaic using exactly 264 (12x22) tiles with no duplicates (distance between tiles set to 0).

To "encourage" the output to exactly fit the target image I have created a target image with the exact dimension ratio of 12*w by 22*h where w is the tile width and h is the tile height (all tiles have exactly the same dimensions).

Often the output looks good (or as good as can be expected with only 264 tiles) but sometimes there is unexpected behaviour.

1. Sometimes only 252 tiles are used and the output image is 11.5 by 22 tiles in size. Setting the number of pixels can fix this but I haven't figured out a way to guess what that number should be.

2. Sometimes the program says that 264 tiles will be used and then one or two tiles (in unpredictable positions) are blacked-out. So the output image looks great except for one or two black tiles.

For (1) it would be nice to be able to set the exact width and height in pixels (or the exact relative width and height) to force the 12 by 22 tile output.

For (2) I wonder if the program produces all of the image that it can but then the last one or two tiles are so badly matched that it just leaves the tiles blank?

Any suggestions on how the settings can be used to better control the output?

And, a really excellent and friendly program.

Thanks,

Andrew.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Number of tiles
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 9:24 am 
I would second the request for an image to be created from an exact number of tiles with Row and Column specifications (20 rows and 12 columns).

Mike


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 11:41 am 
Offline
Fan

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:30 am
Posts: 40
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
I have noticed this too, my guess for #2 is the same as yours (I wonder if the program produces all of the image that it can but then the last one or two tiles are so badly matched that it just leaves the tiles blank?)

Would be a shiny feature :)

JazzLad
http://www.jazzlad.com/mosaic/Salt_Lake ... megapixel/

_________________
"Ever sail in a Firefly? Wanna?"
Firefly DVD on sale now everywhere, Serenity in theatres September 30 (USA)
Project here:
http://www.andreaplanet.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=166


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 7:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2002 9:12 am
Posts: 1254
Location: Italy
I implemented the requested feature on the new BETA RELEASE. Please look this post: http://www.andreaplanet.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=164


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 7:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2002 9:12 am
Posts: 1254
Location: Italy
Andy wrote:
2. Sometimes the program says that 264 tiles will be used and then one or two tiles (in unpredictable positions) are blacked-out. So the output image looks great except for one or two black tiles.


Try to reduce the value 'number of duplicated tiles'. If you get a black tile it's becaus there are not enough available tiles in the Image Collection.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group